9th Anniversary Poem



The Anniversary Gift

On the fourteenth day of May (tomorrow)
We celebrate our special day
Special both for him and me
It is our anni-ver-sary.

I scoured Google, trying to find
What gift you have for year nine
And there it was upon the list
A present that should not be missed

Pottery is year nine
Isn’t that just so divine!
No, well actually it’s not
I just don’t want another pot.

I don’t want crystal, lace or feathers
Diamonds, jade, or fancy leather,
Don’t want jewels, or wool, or wood
Linen, silk, or tin’s no good

You get some bronze for year eight
But bronze is something I would hate
Six is sugar, very sickly
Down the list I move right quickly

And fur!
NO! I want a silencer!
Carbon-fibre, nice and sporty
Even if I’m over forty (and the rest)

On the bike with visor down
Making noise right through the town
Throaty rumble, mighty roar
Now that’s the gift I’m dying for!


Author: Jude

Hello Visitors I'm Jude, and I have a profusion of interests and a passion for motorcycling. I lean towards Buddhism and love silence. I hope you may enjoy some of my musings and meanderings, and if so I'd love to hear your comments.

16 thoughts on “9th Anniversary Poem”

    1. There are a few guys from the US on the F800 forum. It was quite a change for me, my hubby and I had R1100S’s before, but he had serious vibration problems. Now I’m used to the F800 I just love it. Do you do a lot of scuba diving? I dived for ten years around the UK – all cold water and dry-suit! Best diving ever was the wrecks at Scapa Flow. Do you do any underwater photography?


      1. I used to do a lot of diving, not so much anymore. Never did much underwater photography, limited to taking pictures of other divers with their camera. Scapa Flow is famous, but has a high accident rate due to the depth and cold. I havn’t owned a motorcycle in a long time either, but it never left my heart.


    1. Gone are the days in the sixties when I zoomed around the English country roads with no helmet at all! At least these days they are super light and have lots of vents.


I'd love to hear what you think ...

