Tags

, , , , ,

This last week I managed to break the end of the plastic tube on my fifteen plus years old Dyson vacuum cleaner. It was the piece that fits into the metal tube that fits into the head that you push across the floor. With no way to fix it and no spare available we reluctantly went to town to purchase a new machine, having researched styles, performance and price etc beforehand. I wanted the same style as my old Dyson which was bagless. We found a Moulinex machine for a decent price which was the right style and bought it, brought it home and I put it together and plugged it in. And then I could not believe that I couldn’t push it across the carpet!! It sucked so powerfully that you could only move it with brute force! I called my hubby who showed me a little window you can open in the tube to lessen the suction, but even with that fully open he had problems. Then he suddenly said ‘It’s a puller not a pusher’.

‘What!’ says I, as I watched him chuck it forwards and draw it back across the carpet.

‘You need to pull it, then it works,’ he said.

‘But people don’t vacuum like that!’ says me, at which point I demonstrated vacuuming motions. ‘It’s not ergonomic!’

‘Well the suction’s too strong,’ says he, ‘It’s the only way you can use it.’ He then returned to whatever he’d been doing and left me glaring at the idiotic machine that was trying to suck its way to Australia. I switched it off. It had to have been designed by a man I thought – a man who never uses a vacuum cleaner! What is the point of a vacuum cleaner with amazing sucking technology if you can’t push the bloody thing around the room. Bloody hell! I thought for a while and then decided to try the old metal tube from my Dyson with the old Dyson head, and thanks heavens it worked. The head is designed differently and has spaces so the suction can’t glue it to the carpet like a limpet to a rock. So the problem is solved , but only because I had the parts from the Dyson, and some people may not have that option.

So buyers beware! If you want a decent vacuum cleaner don’t buy the Moulinex Compact Power Cyclonic!

I’ve since read some pretty scathing reviews on Amazon (should have read those first!) and now added my own!

